Turned Off the News and Replaced It With a Blog

After being an avid news watcher, I decided to turn off the television because it was too depressing. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to face the reality of people losing their jobs and their homes. The weight of the situation was affecting me; I became listless and sad and I had to do something about it.

While I can’t come up with a stimulus package, hire anyone, or take someone in, I knew I could do two things to change my mood. The first was to stop watching the news. (I still get headlines from WSJ, Los Angeles Times and the AP, but they don’t affect me as much.) The second was to be grateful for the things that I have in life—some simple, others complex. Being a writer, I figured that blogging was the best way to spread the gratitude and get the creative juices flowing each day.

So, welcome to Thank You Everything. My hope is that each post makes you happy about the world around you.

Turned Off the News and Replaced It With a Blog

Leave a comment