Tonight’s Dinner

Ben & Jerry are my favorite summer cooks. Their ice cream always hit the spot. If I want something gooey I reach for Light Phish Food; craving cheesecake, it’s ONE Cheesecake Brownie; or have a taste for peanut butter, it’s Peanut Butter Cup. And when I was pregnant, I had dreams about Neapolitan Dynamite.

In truth, I could live on ice cream. Not what a someone who makes her living writing about exercising and eating right should admit to, but there is something in me that can’t say no to the creamy frozen stuff. Apparently I am not alone in this indulgence. Americans consume about 15 quarts of ice cream per person per year—that’s 27,840 calories (which could translate into 8 additional pounds)!

But this admission gets worse: once I start, I don’t know when to stop. I can easily polish off a pint in one sitting. This has gotten me into trouble. In my 20s, I gained 40 pounds thanks to my two-pint-a-day habit. (Ben & Jerry aided that addiction with their Chubby Hubby flavor.)

Now a days, I try to keep ice cream out of the house. But every once in awhile on a warm night when I don’t feel like cooking, I go to my grocery’s freezer section to pick up an indulgent dinner.

Tonight’s Dinner

Leave a Reply

