It’s an Orange Pants Kind of Day

Fashion icon, yes. Health role model, not so much.
Fashion icon, yes. Healthy role model, not so much.

Years ago, Jennifer Aniston decided to take on the paparazzi by wearing a uniform of orange cargo pants and a tank top. The logic was if she was always wearing the same thing, the photos taken of her wouldn’t be worth anything. She wore those pants boldly and proudly.

I, too, have a pair of orange cargo pants. I bought them at Banana Republic and have worn them regularly since 2004. M. has made comments that when I wear them it looks like I should be working on the side of the road. (Honestly, if some checks don’t come soon I might be working for CalTrans.) But, last year when I had them in a pile to go to Goodwill, he questioned my decision to give them away. I’m glad he did.

When I wear my orange pants, I’m confident. (Granted with pants that bright you have to be.) I also feel strong and bold, two things that don’t always come easy to me. So during the crazy week of our move on a day that I needed to pack, caretake, interview and just try to keep everything straight, I slipped on my orange pants as I reminder that I could tackle anything…even paparazzi if need be.

It’s an Orange Pants Kind of Day

Leave a Reply

