Three Steps at a Time

Yesterday Baby A took his first steps. He stood up, tested the balancing waters, took three quick steps from one piece of furniture to another and then toppled down to the ground. And he kept trying until he went to bed. When he woke up this morning, he kept continued to practice between bouts of watching  “Murray had a little lamb,” “Elmo’s World” and “Sid the Science Kid.”

While this is a major milestone in my son’s development, it made me realize that doing things a bit at a time isn’t so bad. Since he was born, I have had some serious issues about trying to achieve the work-family balance—the largest being, I want to work like I used to in large chunks of time with no interruption. Well, that isn’t possible since I am also the primary caretaker of Baby A. But yesterday and today, as I watched my son take three steps and then sit down and then do so again later, I was struck with the realization that I already knew…I need to work in small increments. (Kind of like how I write this blog and train for whatever race I have signed up for).

So here’s to putting one foot in front of the other and progressing, even if I get distracted along the way.

Three Steps at a Time

One thought on “Three Steps at a Time

Leave a Reply

