Goodbye Familiar Faces

When 2010 rolls around, two men in my life will be gone—pursuing leisurely, fulfilling lives I hope.  The first is Peter Gammons, who announced today that he will be leaving ESPN after major league baseball’s winter meetings. I enjoy watching ESPN and Gammons made the MLB interesting for me. His reporting was top-notch and his commentary was enlightening. I will miss him in the spring.

The second is Charlie Gibson of ABC News. I stopped watching national newscasts at the beginning of the year, but I have slowly crept back. I don’t do well living in a bubble. Gibson has always been my favorite anchor to watch and the fact that he promised his wife that he will retire and he is now keeping it is sweet. I will miss him delivering good and bad news to me when I decide to watch.

Watching television news will be a whole new experience in 2010. Peter and Charlie, you’ll be missed.

Goodbye Familiar Faces

Leave a Reply

