How We Sleep

When I was a girl, I would fall asleep with my butt up in the air. As I got older, I became a tummy sleeper; inching my way down the bed until my feet hung off. Baby A does the same.

Over the last few weeks I’ve been staying in A.’s room until he falls asleep. Each night he goes through his own ritual. He moves his zoo—a momma and baby giraffe, two teddy bears, a bunny and three puppies—to one side of his crib; lies on has stomach and crawls to the end of that crib so that they bury him.

Observing him makes me wonder: Are our sleeping habits genetic? Science hasn’t found anything about positioning; however, an animal study published in the journal Nature found that whether we are early risers or night owls may be. That isn’t applicable here. I do know this: watching my son fall asleep makes me feel a little bit closer to him. Something I didn’t think was possible.

How We Sleep

5 thoughts on “How We Sleep

  1. Ed, As long as you’re not stalking them. I have visions of Rose watching Charlie sleep in Two And A Half Men.

    Thank you for stopping by.

  2. Thank you, Lisa. Baby A is a toddler so he is very young, peaceful and beautiful while he sleeps…at least for now. I suspect that I will always feel that he is all of those things even when he becomes a man.

  3. I had never thought about a genetic component to how we sleep, but why not? I know I hold my hand out the same way my dad did. I thought that was copying, but then I saw my nephew does it, too. So, the stance must be in our genes. Funny thought, isn’t it!

Leave a Reply

